Fantasy Baseball – Week 17

My opponent this week was one I had some history with. Before the season started while I was shopping around for a hitter, we started some negotiations and she ended up being completely unrealistic with her proposals, wanting way more value back than she was giving up. I run across an owner like this every once and a while and it makes me want to beat the crap out of them when we play. And I had a pretty good go at it this week.

Dan Uggla became Florida's all-time HR leader

My offense, led by Dan Uggla this week was absolutely ridiculous. I hit eleven home runs, the most ever for me in one week, highlighted by five from Uggla and three from Swisher. With Brennan Boesch and Jose Guillen struggling, all eleven home runs came from my infielders. Imagine what my team could do with a passable outfield. Uggla, Swisher, Scott Rolen and Jeff Keppinger all put up on-base percentages over .400, with Uggla and Rolen clearing the .500 mark. That helped make up for the sub-.200 OBPs from Boesch, Guillen and Gaby Sanchez. I won five of six offensive categories, only losing RBI mostly due to the fact that of my eleven home runs, nine were of the solo variety. Can’t drive in guys that aren’t on base. Nyjer Morgan and Ben Zobrist each stole three bases, easily winning my that category. Zobrist only played three games this week due to some minor back stiffness, so hopefully he’s ready to go when the Rays start up again on Tuesday. His average has been down, but he still fills out the stat line.

I ran into a fairly hot pitching staff with Wandy Rodriguez and Dan Haren, but managed to take four of six categories due mostly in part to numbers. My opponent made only four starts with Stephen Strasburg hitting the DL, and I took advantage by winning strikeouts, quality starts and wins. My starters didn’t pitch badly, posting a 3.78 ERA and a 1.27 ERA, but it wasn’t enough this week. I picked up two saves which was plenty this week as my opponent had no closers on her roster. Josh Johnson and Adam Wainwright both had down weeks, posting ERAs over 5.00, but luckily they came during a week that I had mostly in the bag. I recorded six quality starts, but the only outing that particularly impressed was Tim Hudson’s 7.2 inning, one run performance early in the week. A lot of six inning, three runs jobs this week.

I’m going to hold off on the transactions for the week, because I made quite a few changes this week that I’ll detail in a post later this week. Overall this week I went 9-3-0 and improved my record to 137-55-12, still good for first place. The team behind me gained a game in the standings, and has a chance to do some real damage next week as we square off for the third matchup this season of the top 2 teams. The first one was all the way back during Week 2 and saw me come out on top and the second one was in Week 7 and also saw a victory for Morales in Wonderland. Hopefully I’ll do more of the same. I’m up against Murderer’s Row this week who’s name is more than fitting as they’re coming off a 10-2 week that pushed their record to 122-68-14.

Posted on August 2, 2010, in Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

