Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 16

After consecutive narrow victories over two of the league’s elite teams, my schedule lightened up a good bit for Week 16, matching me up against the league’s third worst club. My team had a very solid all-around week and nearly pulled off a clean 12-0 sweep. When the week ended, I was a little short on batting average and on-base percentage and settled for a 10-1-1 win.

Nyjer Morgan swiped four bases in Week 16

Big week all around for my offense, production-wise. I lost batting average and tied OBP as I had four guys hit .214 or lower, but cruised elsewhere. Six guys drove in five or more runs for me and five scored at least four runs. I easily won runs and more than doubled my opponent in RBI (38 to 16). Swisher, Posada, Guillen and Zobrist all homered once while my two Marlins, Uggla and Sanchez each went deep twice. Nyjer Morgan finally had a week to write about, hitting .320 with two runs, six RBI and four stolen bases. Denard Span swiped two bases while Sanchez and Keppinger each stole one.

Neftali Feliz had four saves in Week 16

Because I carry a starting pitcher or two less than most teams, every once and a while I’ll hit a week where my opponent has several starters making two starts and I don’t. This was one of those weeks as my opponent’s starters made thirteen starts and my starters made seven.

Despite the numerical disadvantage, I swept all six pitching categories. I took wins when Ryan Franklin picked up a win in relief during the Sunday Night Baseball game and won quality starts when Barry Enright recorded one for me and Jesse Litsch failed to do so for my opponent. Six of my seven starts resulted in quality starts, but as has become all to common, only two of them resulted in wins. Felix Hernandez and Adam Wainwright combined for fourteen innings of scoreless baseball and neither received a win. Josh Johnsonstruck out 11 in 6.1 shutout innings and was denied a victory. Neftali Feliz saved four games during the week and Franklin and Aardsma each picked up a save apiece.

Transaction-wise I had a fairly busy week. I did not activate Mitre for his Saturday start and was very glad after he allowed seven runs in five innings. I dropped him even before Joe Girardi announced he would be moving back to the bullpen. I decided that I needed another starter, especially with my eyes set on the playoffs and picked up Arizona’s Barry Enright. To make room for him I dropped Ronny Paulino, and will roll with only Posada to fill my catcher’s spot – I’ll simply punt the catcher spot on the days Posada gets off and hope he stays healthy the rest of the season. I dropped Wilson Betemit for Jayson Nix but changed my mind before Nix was able to play one game for me.

Noticing increasing rumors about Pittsburgh trading their closer Octavio Dotel, I picked up Joel Hanrahan. I know last week I said that my middle reliever experiment was over, but I view Hanrahan as a closer candidate who’s completely expendable should he blow up.

My 10-1-1 week moved my record to 128-52-12 and kept me comfortably in first place. It was also my sixth winning week in a row, my longest of the season. Up next for me is JesusMo&JoeDiMaggio, whose 65-106-21 record is good for 18th place overall. But they’re coming off a 10-2 win and are starting to see some of their players turn around.

Posted on July 27, 2010, in Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

