Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 15

Because of the 2010 All-Star break, this week saw teams match up against each other for only the last half of the week.

Swisher's walk-off hit against Tampa Bay

My offense was atrocious, hitting a meager .211 with a .271 on-base percentage. But they did manage four home runs and 15 RBI, enough to win both those categories. I also managed to win stolen bases with one, and that one came from an unlikely individual – Scott Rolen. My Yankees had a good week with Jorge Posada and Nick Swisher combining for five runs, three homers and eight RBI in the short week. They both hit over .300 while no one else on my team posted a batting average north of .222. Jeff Keppinger hit a home run and drove in 3.

My pitching fared better, and was able to win the week 3-2-1 for the second week in a row. Josh Johnson and Adam Wainwright each delivered six scoreless innings for wins and Jake Westbrook won his first start for me, finishing one out shy of a quality start. All three of my closers picked up one save, but Andrew Bailey’s save on Sunday for my opponent bested me in that category by one. I picked up four wins, thirty strikeouts and a 1.32 WHIP to win those three categories, but dropped saves and ERA and drew in quality starts.

Several minor moves this week starting with picking up San Diego starter Chris Young and stashing him on my DL. He’s not expected back until the very end of the season, but I’ve got DL space and holding him doesn’t hurt. I also dropped Jeremy Hellickson. I decided I wanted a player now and dropped him Sunday night for Sergio Mitre, who will be taking Andy Pettitte’s spot in the Yankee rotation for the duration of Pettitte’s DL stint. Mitre hasn’t been activated from the DL himself just yet, so I de-activated him and picked up 3B Wilson Betemit to fill in for Scott Rolen, who has been taking some time off to nurse some (hopefully) minor back pain.

On my plate for Week 16 is Word To Your Mauer who is 70-95-15 overall, but is coming off a 9-2-1 Week 15 win. My 6-5-1 week moved my first-place overall record to 118-51-11.

Posted on July 19, 2010, in Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

