Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 14

This week will be known as the week where I ended my middle reliever experiment. My starters had a typical strong week, allowing nine runs in 47.1 innings for a 1.71 ERA. They won four games and posted five quality starts in seven chances. But my relievers posted ERAs of 40.50, 21.60, 6.00, 54.00 and 135.00 jumping my ERA to just a shade under five.

My offense wasn’t spectacular, but they had a good enough week to earn a 3-3 split, winning runs, stolen bases and on-base percentage and losing homers, RBI and average. Nick Swisher had a big week as he hit .357/.419 with a pair of home runs and six runs scored that earned him a spot on the AL all-star team. Ben Zobrist hit only .235 but finished the week with nine runs and five stolen bases thanks to a .519 on-base percentage. Nyjer Morgan continued hitting very little, but swiped two more bases and Jeff Keppinger posted a .389 average and knocked his second homer of the season.

Josh Johnson and Adam Wainwright both pitched eight scoreless innings earning wins and Felix Hernandez twirled sixteen innings over two starts and struck out fifteen, picking up a win and two quality starts. My starters had a typical strong week, allowing nine runs in 47.1 innings for a 1.71 ERA. They won four games and posted five quality starts in seven chances. But my relievers posted ERAs of 40.50, 21.60, 6.00, 54.00 and 135.00 jumping my ERA to just a shade under five. Brandon League and Tyler Clippard imploded, and Ryan Franklin and Neftali Feliz has awful weeks as well. Despite all these horrific performances, I only lost ERA and WHIP. I won wins, strikeouts and quality starts and tied in saves, giving me a 3-2-1 week in the pitching department.

My new 2B, Dan Uggla

Because of their epic meltdowns this week, I decided that hoarding middle relief pitchers would end up being more detrimental than it would beneficial and made a bunch of moves. I dropped Tyler Clippard and Brandon League and replaced them with starters Jake Westbrook and Jeremy Hellickson. Hellickson is throwing well for Tampa Bay’s Triple-A team and I’m stashing him with hopes that he’ll eventually be promoted and turn in a few nice performances down the stretch. If not, he’s an easy cut when Scott Olsen returns from the DL.

I also made another trade this week, sending Matt Garza to the team I was playing this week for Florida 2B Dan Uggla. I figured with Westbrook on my team and Olsen close to returning, I could move a SP for some offensive help. Uggla is a decent return for a guy who’s been my worst starter this year, even if I sold low on Garza. I was prepared to offer Jamie Garcia or perhaps even Tim Hudson for Uggla, but he had Brandon Phillips entrenched as his second baseman and parted with Uggla for just Garza.

The 6-5-1 week moved my record to 112-46-10 and kept my in first place, but also allowed the league to gain on me, as my lead was cut from 10 games to eight. Up next for me is another hot team, The Process, who is in third place overall with a 94-57-17 record and is coming off a 6-4-2 win last week

Posted on July 18, 2010, in Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

