Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 13

Another week, another win. I didn’t have a great offensive start to the week, but my hitters had a pretty good weekend and managed to win four while losing two offensive categories. I also took four of the pitching ones, lost one and tied the last one. I’ll take an 8-3-1 week any time, but two of the teams chasing me finished the week 11-1, so they managed to chew into my lead.

Nobody particularly stood out on my offense during a week that only saw me hit a pair of homers, one by Scott Rolen and one by Gaby Sanchez. Prince Fielder outhomered my entire team for my opponent this week, leading to my losing that category. I also dropped runs, as nobody on my team scored more than three times, while my opponent had a pair of guys scored six or more times. I did excel in RBIs this week, with six guys driving in at least three runs and Scott Rolen and Denard Span driving in six runs apiece. Brennan Boesch hit .400 this week, and he was joined by Ben Zobrist and Gaby Sanchez in posting on-base percentages of .400 or better. The only category in which I outperformed my usual numbers was stolen bases, as my team swiped seven bases. Nyjer Morgan and Ben Zobrist each swiped two, but I was helped out by Jeff Keppinger’s second stolen base of the season and Nick Swisher’s first (and possibly last). Denard Span also had one.

Wainwright during his complete game on July 4 vs. Milwaukee

My pitching on the other hand had arguably their best week to date. True, they only went 4-1-1, but ran into some bad luck. My starters finally got some run support (everyone but Josh Johnson) and recorded six wins in eight starts. The two performances that didn’t earn wins were Johnson’s 6IP, 1R performance and Tim Hudson’s second start of the week in which he went eight innings and allowed three runs in a 3-2 Atlanta loss. Adam Wainwright posted two quality starts, including a complete game win on Sunday that put his ERA for the week at 0.59 and gave him a 0.85 WHIP. Felix Hernandez twirled a two-hit shutout against the Yankees in which he struck out eleven and Jamie Garcia tossed seven shutout innings with seven strikeouts himself. My starters gave up seven runs this week in 59 innings. My relievers gave up seven runs in 7.2 innings. All told, it resulted in a 1.99 ERA and a 0.97 WHIP. All eight starts made by my starters were quality ones and I ran away with that category, winning 8-2. Despite all that pitching dominance, I still only managed a tie in wins, because my opponent vultured three wins from his bullpen and got a win apiece from Hisanori Takahashi and Paul Maholm, despite them pitching to ERAs of 7.59 and 6.55 respectively.

I made only one move this week, dropping Edgar Renteria after finally getting tired of his poor performances. He had a nice little hot streak the first few weeks of the season that helped me tremendously, but since coming back from various injuries, he’s been killing me in average and OBP, the only two categories he’s passable in. He doesn’t score or drive in a whole lot of runs and he’s not a stolen base threat. With one home run, he’s certainly not contributing to my power numbers.

I picked up Seattle setup man Brandon League to replace him, for two reasons. First, I’m wavering on whether to drop Tyler Clippard who has been shaky of late so League could give me several innings and strikeouts per week with a low ERA and WHIP. Secondly, Seattle’s closer David Aardsma, who I also own, may very well be traded to a contender who would use him as a setup man down the stretch run. Should that happen, I’m hedging my bets that League picks up the save opportunities and I won’t lose those saves.

The 8-3-1 week pushes my overall record to 106-41-9, making me the first team in the league to 100 victories. It keeps me in first place, but 11-1 weeks by two of the three teams directly behind me knocks a few games off my lead. Up next for me is Honey Nut Ichiros, who is in fifth place overall and coming off a 10-0 week that moved their overall record to 85-59-12.

Posted on July 4, 2010, in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

