Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 12

Twice this season has a team finished a week without losing a single category. The first time was the first week of the season, when I beat Brandon’s Bombers 11-0. The second instance was this week, as I swept every stat and won 12-0. Neither my hitters or my pitchers had particularly strong weeks, but I lucked out and matched up against a bad team that performed very badly.

Boesch had 7RBI in Week 12

For the third week in a row, Brennan Boesch was my featured offensive star. He hit .348/.423 for the week with two home runs, seven RBI and four runs scored. Scott Rolen hit a pair of home runs and Gaby Sanchez hit .414 with four runs batted in. Ben Zobrist hit a whopping .067, but also posted a .391 on-base percentage which put him on the bases enough to swipe three bases, helping me win that category 4-3. For the week I hit six homers, scored twenty-three runs and drove in thirty. I got by with those good-not-great numbers because my opponent struggled offensively, hitting three home runs while scoring twelve run and driving in seventeen. My offense was rolling along, batting .313 after Thursday’s games, but had a horrific weekend and ended the week at .274, nearly a forty-point drop in three days. My on-base percentage dropped as well due to the falloff in average, though not as drastically going from .391 to .365.

Felix tossed 9 innings for a ND

My pitchers had an off week by their lofty standards. They posted a 4.50 ERA, which technically is a quality start, but is also double their usual number. Felix Hernandez and Josh Johnson were brilliant in their only starts this week, but both failed to get wins due to a lack of run support. King Felix tossed nine innings of two-run ball in a game the Mariners would eventually lose in extra innings. Johnson struck out nine in eight innings of two-run ball, but the Florida offense managed only one run and lost 2-1. Matt Garza bounced back from his one-inning, seven run debacle last week with a quality start and a win, but Tim Hudson, Adam Wainwright and Jamie Garcia were pounded throughout the week. Tyler Clippard ran into another bad outing, but my closers saved four games without allowing a run. I recorded only two wins, but I got lucky and my opponent managed only one. My 39 strikeouts almost doubled his 22 and it’s easy to win with four quality starts when your opponent doesn’t get any. My team’s 4.50 ERA and 1.19 WHIP weren’t in line with their usual standards, but were plenty good enough to top 7.36 and 1.68.

The only move I made this week was activating Edgar Renteria from the disabled list. Since dropping Reid Brignac, I had three players for second base, shortstop and third base. I like having flexibility across the board, and getting Renteria back from the DL helped increase my flexibility. I cut loose Ivan Rodriguez to make room for Renteria, as I felt comfortable with Posada’s return to semi-regular playing time. Renteria is no longer the everyday shortstop for the Giants, but with Ben Zobrist and Jeff Keppinger eligible at both 2B and SS, I can fill both spots and work Renteria in with favorable matchups.

My team is very solid and I don’t anticipate making any more major moves. I would like to add another starting pitcher, but am content to wait until Scott Olsen comes back from the DL. Olsen has started throwing again, but has no timetable for a return. Hopefully I’ll get him back in action in a month or so.

My 12-0 sweep improved my record to 98-38-8 and obviously kept me in first place overall. Up next for me is Monty’s Millionaire’s who I have some history with. They picked up Reid Brignac when I dropped him and when I offered Ivan Rodriguez to get him back, Monty countered with Brignac-for-Tim Hudson. Or, a part-time middle infielder for a top-of-the rotation starter. Monty’s Millionaire’s is coming off a 2-9-0 showing in Week 12, putting their overall record at 63-74-6, good for 13th place overall.

Posted on June 27, 2010, in Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

