Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 10

We’re through nine weeks, and although it looked grim most way through the week, I avoided my first losing week with a strong pitching performance from Felix Hernandez on Sunday.

Boesch hit 3 HR in Week 9

My week 9 results were pretty much the exact opposite from what I’ve become accustomed to this season. My hitting dominated the week while my pitchers suffered through an off week. Scott Rolen, Nick Swisher and Brennan Boesch all had big weeks for me, helping my team win four of the six categories. And if Milton Bradley doesn’t get hit by a pitch in the last game of the week, I would have won five of six offensive categories. Boesch homered three times and drove in 5 runs, while Nick Swisher used a big game on Tuesday and finished the week with nine RBI. Scott Rolen hit .500 with four runs and five RBI. Denard Span rebounded from an awful week 8 by hitting .389 with four runs.

My pitchers didn’t have a horrible week, posting a 3.95 ERA and a 1.35 WHIP, but it was a down week from them and my opponent got some impressive starts from his pitchers. I ended up winning two and losing four pitching categories. I won saves and took back strikeouts on Sunday when Felix Hernandez struck out nine batters in a win over the Padres. Josh Johnson continued his dominant run, winning his start without allowing a run, while Tim Hudson went the distance in his start, but lost 2-1. I got a nice surprise when Tyler Clippard picked up a save in place of a resting Matt Capps.

I activated Ivan Rodriguez from the DL this week, and cut Reid Brignac to do so, which I immediately regretted. I’m now carrying three catchers on my roster, and have no flexibility in my infield, something I prize more than extra catchers. I’ve found no takers for any of my catchers and my Ivan Rodriguez-for-Reid Brignac offers was countered by a Reid Brignac-for-Tim Hudson.

I’ve made it through a very tough run in my schedule and up next for me is Get The Poison Out, who owns a record of 45-66-9 putting him in 17th place overall. My 6-6-0 week dropped my record to 79-33-8, but kept me atop the league in first place.

Posted on June 16, 2010, in Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

