Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 9

After fighting my way to a well-earned tie last week, my team weathered a mid-week slump and beat division rival Whipple23 by a score of 9-3-0.

Scott Rolen rounds the bases after his pinch-hit HR

We split the offensive categories, with me winning home runs, RBI and average and Whipple23 taking runs, stolen bases and on-base percentage. Undoubtedly my offensive star this week was Scott Rolen. He went deep three times and drove in seven runs with a .375 average and a .400 on-base percentage. Ronnie Paulino drove in eight runs and Brennan Boesch hit a three-run homer on Saturday that put me in the lead for good in both home runs and RBI. Denard Span had a brutal week, posting a .067 average and a .097 on-base percentage while managing one solitary Sunday run.

My pitching picked up the slack and swept all six categories, finishing the week with six wins, two saves, 55 strikeouts, a 2.31 ERA and a 1.16 WHIP with eight quality starts. A dominant week all around was marred a bit by two brutal outings from closer David Aardsma who pitched in a 10.12 ERA in three appearances this week. Jamie Garcia and Tim Hudson recorded quality starts in all four of their outings, winning two of them. Adam Wainwright gave me my best start of the year, tossing a two-hit, complete game shutout of the Brewers.

Made two moves this week, one minor and one quite major. First, I activated Jorge Posada from the DL and cut ties with John Jaso. I’ll have a hard decision next week when Ivan Rodriguez comes off the DL. Do I cut him or get rid of Ronny Paulino who has been fantastic ever since I picked him up. I’ll probably try and move one of the two of them in a small trade. The major trade of the week saw me trade away both Adrian Gonzalez and Alberto Callaspo, two of my most productive hitters.

Sensing David Aardsma may not be long for Seattle’s closing job, I brought in Neftali Feliz, the high-strikeout closer from Texas and also acquired Tampa Bay’s Ben Zobrist. I pride myself on being able to find production outside of big name guys so hopefully this will work out for me. A general rule of thumb for me is don’t make a trade if you have to think too hard about it. If you do, then it’s probably not a great value trade for you. I thought about this one a lot, but made the move because ultimately I thought Zobrist would outproduce Callaspo for the remainder of the season, while counting on my depth to replace the production of Gonzalez.

Up next for my squad is Knockers, who is coming off a 7-5 win over the fifth place team this past week, and has a 47-57-4 record overall, putting them in 12th place overall. My 9-3 week runs my record to 73-27-8 overall and keeps me in first place overall.

Posted on June 6, 2010, in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

