Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 8

While things looked bleak throughout the first few days of Week 8, my team managed to scrape through the end of the week and keep themselves unbeaten through the season’s first eight weeks.

An absolutely brutal week for my offense, as they started off horribly and finished only slightly less so. After hitting the midway point of the week hitting .075, I consider it a small miracle that I managed to finish the week at .220/.258. I went 2-4 overall in the hitting stats, winning runs and home runs, thanks in part to my opponent putting up a zero in the home run column this week. I had six hitters record sub .200 averages and Nick Swisher and Scott Rolen were my only men to hit a homer or drive in more than two runs.

Wainwright went 1-1 despite a 1.29 ERA in 14IP

While my offense stumbled, my pitchers kept up the ridiculous performance I’ve come to expect from them. Five of the seven starts they made were of the quality type, and all five of those might have well been labeled as extra-quality. Even with Tim Hudson’s rain shortened affair and Matt Garza’s clunker in Boston (5IP, 6ER) my staff put up a 2.36 ERA and a 1.14 WHIP. Both numbers are slightly inflated from David Aardsma crapping the bed Sunday afternoon (1/3 IP, 3ER). Again, my closers failed to garner many opportunities and Ryan Franklin was shutout completely, pitching two perfect innings in his only appearance this week.

Despite all the phenomenal pitching performances, my guys still only managed one win as they received nearly no run support. Adam Wainwright lost by giving up one run in seven innings in which he struck out a cool dozen. Josh Johnson took a loss by allowing the unearned run that kept Roy Halladay’s perfect game from going into extra innings. Jamie Garcia tossed six shutout innings but the Cardinals didn’t score any runs at all. Felix Hernandez pitched eight innings of one-run ball only to see his bullpen give up four runs in the ninth to lose the game.

Transactions-wise this week, Edgar Renteria played one game, went 2-for-3 and then promptly landed himself back on the disabled list, prompting me to pick up Houston infielder Jeff Keppinger. Definitely a downgrade and not a flashy player, but one who is a capable backup that I can play matchups with and who is eligible at third, shortstop and second. Coco Crisp also landed himself back on the DL after only being active for three games and instead of disabling him, I simply dropped him for Florida catcher Ronny Paulino – who you may now know as the guy who made the last out in Roy Halladay’s perfect game.

I finished up winning four and losing two of the pitching categories and managed to scrape a tie after trailing significantly for most of the week. Up next for me is division rival Whipple23, who improved to 51-38-7 after an impressive Week 8 showing, moving him up to fifth place overall in the league. My 6-6-0 week moved my overall record to 64-24-8, which was enough to keep me in first place, although it did allow some of the top teams, including Whipple23 to get within striking distance of me.

Posted on May 30, 2010, in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

