Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 7

Week 7 matched the top two teams in the league in myself and the New York Highlanders. And even though the competition was tougher, my team performed nearly identical as they did in Week 6 by dominating pitching categories and holding their own with the bat.

I won five of the six pitching categories and split the sixth. I compiled five wins with a sparkling 1.28 ERA and an equally impressive 1.21 WHIP. Only one of my pitchers posted an ERA above 2.70, and that was Felix Hernandez. Of the seven starts my starters made, six of them qualified as a quality start and the only one that wasn’t one was Jamie Garcia’s five shutout innings. David Aardsma was blanked in the save department again, but Ryan Franklin’s pair of saves were enough for me to split saves this week.

On the hitting side of the ball, Adrian Gonzalez finally had a week worthy of his first round draft selection. He homered twice, drove in eight runs and did it with a .455 average and a .586 on-base percentage. With seven of my hitters posting averages of over .300 I managed to win both average and on-base percentage. My hitters also converted those high numbers into 34 runs, enough to win that category as well. Denard Span led the way with nine runs and Alberto Callaspo added seven of his own.

No trades for me this week, although I’m always working the wire to try and improve my team. I did however end up making plenty of moves as I lost players to injury. Both of my catchers, Jorge Posada and Ivan Rodriguez wenton the disabled list late in the week, but I activated Edgar Renteria and Coco Crisp from the DL to take their roster spaces. I picked up Tampa rookie John Jaso to take the place of my catchers and DL’d Scott Olsen to make room for him.

I’m trying to find a deal where I can trade 2 players for one and open a spot to pick up Florida backstop Ronnie Paulino to platoon with Jaso while my main two catchers are out. I’m hoping to move some of my outfield depth and add another solid arm to strengthen an already strong staff.

My 8-3-1 week pushes my overall record to 58-18-8, still good enough for the top overall spot in the league. But the schedule doesn’t get any easier for me as Week 8 matches me up against the 43-35-6 AngelDust & Hoffman.

Posted on May 25, 2010, in Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

