Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 6

After trading three players for two the previous week, I had an empty roster spot headed into Week 6. I used it on baby-faced Detroit callup Brennan Boesch and was heavily rewarded for it. He led my offense to a 3-3 split with a .500 average, a homer and five RBI. But Boesch was just one of five guys that hit better than .400 for me in Week 6.

For the first time I used a new strategy with my offense. Having racked up a .320 batting average by Friday and a .398 on-base percentage, but trailing significantly in runs, homers and RBI, I benched all of my hitters, and betting on the fact that my opponent wouldn’t hit well enough to overcome those numbers. It worked, as his hitters had a less-than-mediocre weekend.

As has been my calling card this year, after splitting the hitting stats, my pitchers went to work securing the weekly win for me. Each week, it seems a different one of my pitchers has a dominant showing and this week belonged to Tim Hudson. He made two starts, both of the quality variety while posting a 1.29 ERA and a 1.14 WHIP and winning both starts. My staff finished the week going 4-1-1, winning ERA and WHIP (2.98 & 1.16) with 50 strikeouts and seven quality starts. Even with all those quality starts, they managed only four wins, enough to tie for the week, but not to win. And for the second straight week, my closers didn’t see much action, notching only a pair of saves between them to lose 3-2.

The 7-4-1 week kept me in first place overall and pushed my record to 50-15-7. Week 7 matches me up against the New York Highlanders, who at 40-23-9, sit in first place in Division 1 and in second place overall.

Posted on May 19, 2010, in Sports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

