Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 5

Week 5 was a week that saw me make just about every wrong move I possibly could, but I still managed a convincing 7-2-3 victory over The Diamond Cutters.

Nick Swisher once again was the anchor of my offense, hitting .391 with a .440 on-base percentage with three homers, nine RBI and scored six runs. Nobody else knocked in more than three runs for me and Jose Guillen was my only other player to score more than twice. But even with all that, I managed to win two, lose two and tie two of the offensive categories.

My pitching was solid all-around again, and I managed to win five of the six categories, and despite my opponent not having a closer, both of mine were shut out of the saves department and we drew that category. Adam Wainwright notched a win and thirteen strikeouts in a pair of quality starts this week, and strong outings from Jamie Garcia, Tim Hudson and Matt Garza made up for the absolute dud that Felix Hernandez turned in this week (3.1IP, 8R).

Made one move this week, but it turned out to be a very beneficial one. After acquiring Todd Helton, I realized that I preferred Gaby Sanchez’s production in my utility spot and therefore had no place for Helton. So I packaged Helton along with Ryan Sweeney and Chris Volstad for Denard Span and Tyler Clippard. I needed some stolen bases and had more flexibility to use an outfielder than a first baseman.

The trade was processed just in time for Sunday’s games and I immediately plugged both Span and Clippard into my starting lineups and the moves paid dividends. I entered Sunday trailing in runs by two and in stolen bases by one. Span proceeded to go 3-for-4 with two runs and a stolen base, knotting up both categories. Clippard vultured a win for my team on Sunday as well.

The 7-2-3 week ups my record on the season to 43-11-6 and keeps me entrenched in first place for at least one more week. Next week matches me against another Top 10 team in Tug Z’Nuff who is coming off a 6-4-2 win and is 29-24-7 on the young season.

Posted on May 9, 2010, in Sports. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

