Fantasy Baseball 2010 – Week 4

After dominating the first two weeks of the season, my team stumbled a little in the third week, rallying late to earn a split. Week 4 saw my team turn things back around and beat Pedroia’s Grit 9-2-1.

My pitching again posted excellent numbers, led by a complete game and a dozen strikeouts by Josh Johnson. My pitchers won five games, posted an ERA of 2.98, a WHIP of 1.21and six quality starts, good enough to win all four of those categories.

Because of the strength of my pitching staff, I made a move, trading Barry Zito for Todd Helton. I acquired Helton more to try and flip him later on than I did to start him. I have Adrian Gonzalez entrenched in my first base slot and am more than comfortable with Gaby Sanchez handling the utility spot, leaving Helton no place on my roster. I’m hoping to use him in a deal for an outfielder who can steal some bases, as Nyjer Morgan remains my only true stolen base threat.

A big week from Nick Swisher (.407 AVG, 7R, 2HR, 6RBI) and some solid contributions from new pickup Reid Brignac (4 RBI) helped my squad win five of the six offensive categories and tie the sixth one. With Edgar Renteria and Jorge Posada missing time due to various injuries, Brignac and Ivan Rodriguez are going to have to keep contributing for my offense to keep rolling into Week 5.

My Week 4 victory pushes me back into first place overall with a 36-9-3 record. Week 5 pits my team against the fifth place Diamond Cutters, who have opened the season strong at 24-19-5.

Posted on May 5, 2010, in Sports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

