Intelligence in the Miss USA Pageant

Guilty. While watching beautiful women parading around in elegant dresses and two-piece bathing suits is certainly an activity I was on board with, I also happen to value intelligence in a woman, and for the most part, beauty pageant contestants are stereotyped as dumb.

However, after the Miss USA pageant the other day, I guess there’s still hope after all. Miss California, Carrie Prejean fielded a question from judge Perez Hilton (why this joke is a legitimate public figure, I can’t begin to fathom) about her opinion on gay marriage.

I guess Perez Hilton assumed that Ms. Prejean, representing the liberal nuthouse that is California would give gay marriage some more positive attention from a woman in a bikini.

Prejean however, stuck to her guns and gave an intelligent answer.

“In my country, and in my family, I think that a marriage should be between a man and a woman.”

And even after her answer cost Prejean the pageant crown, as she was rewarded first runner-up instead, and Perez Hilton called her a “stupid bitch” – she still didn’t care.

“I wouldn’t have had it any other way. I stated an opinion that was true to myself, and that’s all I can do. I was raised in a way that you can never compromise your beliefs and your opinions for anything.”

Attagirl.

I’m in the same field as Prejean – both of us constantly take grief for our beliefs from people that say we’re not accepting. But these exact same people are completely intolerant of the way we think and the way we were raised.

It’s hypocritical and makes it that much harder to take anything they say seriously. They discriminate against people whose beliefs don’t line up with their own, and then ask those very same people not to discriminate against different choices and lifestyles.

Many times, people cave to the ridiculous pandering from these types of people. But other times, it’s refreshing to see people like Carrie Prejean who don’t give them the satisfaction. They know what’s right and what they believe in and stand by it regardless of the crap that’s thrown at them.

Attagirl, Carrie. Attagirl.

Posted on April 21, 2009, in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi, good post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for writing. I’ll certainly be subscribing to your blog.

  1. Pingback: Intelligence in the Miss USA Pageant

Leave a Reply

