Gay “Marriage”

Gay marriage – I don’t believe in it and I certainly don’t condone it.
I don’t approve of homosexuality and I believe that it is a choice. Just as it is my choice to order my steak medium rare or my choice to put my underpants on left leg first. However, if you do choose to lead a homosexual lifestyle, that’s your choice and I can’t and won’t do anything about it. Just don’t submit me to it and don’t disrespect my choice either.

Putting my religious beliefs aside, I am fully against gay marriage. Marriage is a sacred institution that should be reserved for a man and a woman who love each other and are committed to building a life and a family together. People may argue that gay people are people too, and therefore deserve the same opportunities that normal straight people do and I agree. I understand that some people are gay and find someone of their own sex to love and cherish. They want to be together and be afforded all the benefits that come with marriage because they love each other. As far as I’m concerned, that’s fine.

But don’t call it marriage.

Because it isn’t. But it is entirely disrespectful to heterosexual men and women. Marriage is a union of a man and a woman. A marriage is generally a precursor to children, something that a homosexual couple cannot produce on their own. They can buy children from poor Asian orphanages, but homosexual women can’t fertilize another woman’s eggs and gay men don’t want to. Continuing our species’ existence is only made possible by heterosexual couples. I also don’t approve of gay couples adopting young children. While I’m perfectly sure that homosexual couples can produce a loving environment for a child, a child may not want that life. If a child fully understands the concept of homosexual parents or, if the child’s birth parents permit it, then who am I to speak against it. But placing an infant with homosexual partners disrespects the child’s future decisions.

Liberal lawmakers (read, California) have legalized gay “marriage.” They claim that everyone should have the opportunity to marry whomever they love, regardless of sexual orientation. They say any Joe and Jane can get “married” simply for spousal privilege or insurance benefits, and that preventing gay couples that truly love each other is unconstitutional.

Whatever.

Just like every other liberal agenda, there’s no logic or intelligent reasoning behind this one. I’m a 20-year old heterosexual male. Well, according to my state laws, I’m prohibited from marrying my first-cousin. I’m prohibited from marrying my second-cousins. And I’ve got hot second cousins. I can’t marry underage girls. I can’t marry my brother. And I’ve got a hot brother. Hell, the government even restricts my heterosexual marriage options. Because last time I checked, I can only be legally married to one woman at a time.

And there are very good reasons for my not being able to do any of those. I was talking with an unnamed gay acquaintance and I asked him what his response would be if I wanted to marry my father. I believe “Eww, gross” was his response. I assume he was disgusted by the fact that I was marrying a man in my hypothetical scenario.

My point is that we can’t call a union of homosexuals “marriage” because it isn’t. Apples and oranges. An apple is a fruit, but it isn’t an orange. And homosexual unions are and should be legal unions, but they’re not marriages. Just as all squares are rectangles, but not all rectangles are squares, all marriages are legal unions, but not all legal unions are marriages. But America/California needs to stop labeling something for what it isn’t. It desecrates the institution of marriage and all the men and women over the past two hundred-plus years that have worked hard to uphold it.

People tell me all the time that I need to be more sensitive to other people and their beliefs. That’s a hard concept for me to grasp when no one pays any attention to my ideals and beliefs. Respect is a lot of give-and-take, just like marriage. I can’t publish visual depictions of Muhammad because it offends Muslims. But no one cares that “marrying” two homosexual people is offensive to me and to millions of other Americans.

I have no problem with homosexuals deciding that they love each other and want to spend the rest of their life together. But that’s not marriage. I can pour Pepsi into Coke bottles all I want to and call it Coke, but it’ll never be Coke. I can move to London, adopt an accent and spell color with a “u”, but I’ll never be English. And two people of the same-sex joining together will never be marriage.

Posted on June 3, 2008, in Politics. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

